Site icon Digging Press/Digging Through The Fat

Digging Press Chapbook Series Award

The Digging Press Chapbook Series Award, established in 2018, honors small books of literary and artistic quality that, in the opinion of our series editor, encourage experimentation and cultural inclusion and promote the importance of eclecticism in the literary arts. All print publications are designed in-house by our creative director, Cynthia Alvarez, a fine artist whose work can be viewed at

The Digging Press Chapbook Series Award is open for submissions once (or twice) a year for fiction, poetry, or hybrid (cross-genre) manuscripts. We seek innovative manuscripts that are inventively personal and richly imagined. We are inspired by the works of Clarice Lispector, Augusto Monterroso, Lynne Tillman, Óscar Esquivias, Giannina Braschi, Italo Calvino, Lydia Davis, Zakaria Tamer, Gloria Evangelina Anzaldúa, Sonia Sanchez, Ocean Vuong, Sam Sax, Claudia Rankine, Eileen Myles…

Awabi by Mandy-Suzanne Wong. Winner of the 2018 Digging Press Chapbook Award.

We are passionate about presenting a unique book design and offering editorial support. We aim to produce beautiful and artistic books. Selected manuscripts have a small print-run (100 copies), and authors receive 20 copies plus a $250 payment. Authors retain all rights to their material within the author’s chapbook.

Past Winners:

Mandy-Suzanne Wong (First Edition; April 2019 – sold out. Second Edition May 2022) View results. 
Abigail Carl-Klassen (August 2020; 2nd printing forthcoming Winter 2023) View results. 
Dimitri Reyes (July 2021; 1st printing sold out. 2nd printing November 2021) View results.
Marie Baléo (forthcoming Winter 2022). View results.
Morgan Christie (forthcoming Spring/Summer 2023). View results.
Rachelle Parker (TBA). View results.

March 1 – May 31, 2023

The submission/reading fee is $15 per submission. Please note that fees offset the cost of publishing and promoting the winning chapbook. A small portion also helps cover our Submittable hosting fees. We also rely on donations and purchases to support our chapbook series. If you would like to make a tax-deductible donation, Donate Here

The 2023 Digging Press Chapbook Award is open to any writer/poet writing in English.

Jericho Writers has excellent advice on “Manuscript Presentation”: Do keep in mind that our chapbooks have a trim size of 4.25″ wide x 6.75″ high. Each book page fits approximately 225-230 words; each line fits approximately 45-48 characters across, including spaces, with 26-28 lines to a page. This chapbook format is non-negotiable.

We only accept manuscripts between 24 and 40 pages via Submittable. Please read the following carefully:

All selected submissions are read, reviewed, and considered by final judge, Gessy Alvarez, editor of the Digging Press Chapbook Series.

In the event that the final judge chooses no manuscript for publication, all contest fees will be returned.

Final notification of the contest winner, finalists, and semi-finalists will be provided by e-mail to all contest entrants by June 2023.

With permission from our contributors, we may include accepted works in promotional material for Digging Through The Fat and Digging Press, LLC.

If you have any questions or concerns, please add your comments in the section below and we’ll respond within 24 hours.

— Digging Press Team

Exit mobile version